Makeup

Beauty Basics: Everyday Makeup Tutorial

Over the last few months I have received what seems like endless amounts of questions and comments on my everyday makeup routine . Today I decided I would do my first makeup tutorial, unfortunately, it is not a video tutorial but that will hopefully be coming soon if you guys are interested in seeing that! If you don’t understand the terminology I’m using or the places I’m applying my makeup click here, and if you don’t understand the purpose of a certain makeup product click here. Please keep in mind that I am in no way a professional makeup artist and am just a fourteen year old girl sharing what I have learned over the years. I hope you guys enjoy!

For the face makeup I tend to change it up from week to week. If my skin is acting up I’ll have a fuller face of makeup on. Where as sometimes all I wear is under eye concealer. Some days I go for a strong contour and other days I just go for a highlight. The same goes for my eye makeup. I hardly ever wear the same eyeshadow look twice or repeat the same lid color in the same week. Although I feel that there is absolutely nothing wrong with wearing the same makeup everyday, I have lots of makeup and find it super fun to change up my look on a day to day basis. However, today I am showing you one of my most worn face looks and a favorite eye look. *keep in mind that some makeup is from the drugstore and some is high end.*


 

Step One: Face Primer I’ve been using the ELF Mineral Infused Primer everyday to provide my face with a smooth canvas before applying my makeup. I find that this primer helps minimize my pores, conceal fine lines, keep my makeup in place, and prevents my face from getting oily throughout the day. Also, I love that this primer doesn’t break the bank at only $6 per bottle (14 mL).

Step Two: Foundation I don’t like wearing a full face of foundation so I lighten up the coverage of my Maybelline Matte+Poreless Fit Me Foundation in the color 125 with the Cetaphil Moisturizer. My face tends to be super dry so I find that taking a drop of moisturizer and a drop of foundation is the best way to moisturize my skin and even out it’s tone. I apply this with my beauty blender for a natural and flawless complexion,  I also love this foundation because it absorbs natural oils and keeps your face matte throughout the day.

Step Three: Face Powder For years I have used the Rimmel Stay Matte Powder to set my foundation and keep my face makeup in place all day. This is a pressed powder that leaves you with a shine free complexion. I like to apply this with my ELF powder brush to pack it in and ensure that it won’t budge throughout the day.

Step Four: Under Eye concealer and powder My under eyes are horrendous due to the fact that I seem to never have a full eight hours of sleep and I naturally have super vainy under eyes with blue undertones. To conceal these, I use the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Concealer which works wonders and is only $7 from the drugstore. This concealer has a sponge tip applicator and helps depuff the area around my eyes. I set my under eyes with the banana powder that comes in the Anastasia Contour Kit. I find that this keeps me from looking dead. If I decide to skip foundation I almost always use these two products to still keep a refreshed look.

Step Five: Contour Contouring is my favorite makeup trend that has been going around lately. I find that it can bronze up the face while slimming your features at the same time. I use the second bronzer from The Anastasia Contour Kit and apply this with the ELF bronzing brush. I contour my cheekbones, nose, and temples to sculpt and define my features. I love this palette because it has three completely matte bronzer’s, a powder, a banana powder, and a shimmer highlight that is beautiful. I think that this palette is gorgeous and well worth the splurge.

Step Six: Highlight I use the color Vanilla from the Anastasia Contour Kit to highlight which works perfect on my olive green complexion. I love applying this to the tops of my cheekbones and on my cupids bow for a glowy effect that looks gorgeous as the sun hits it.

Step Seven: Eye Primer and Base I always get asked about my eyeshadow and what makes my eyeshadow look different from the person asking me. I swear by the Urban Decay Primer Potion to prime my eye lids to keep my shadows from creasing and wearing away quickly. I can not give the Maybelline Color Tatoo in Barely Branden enough thumbs up and praise. This product is the reason I fell in love with eye makeup. It’s a creamy base that is a dupe for the MAC Paint Pots and your wallet will love you for it at only $7 per container. (I use this everyday and it takes me about a year to finish one.) It has a creamy texture that keeps shadows from creasing and keeps colors vibrant. I apply both of these with my fingers. Also, don’t be afraid  to apply these messily, it’s going to be covered up anyways!

Step Eight: Eyeshadow My favorite palette is hands down the Urban Decay Naked Palette. If I could keep only on palette I would choose this one. It has ten shimmery eyeshadows and two matte eyeshadows that have a beautiful, creamy texture and work wonders with blue eyes and an olive complexion.It is $52 but if you’re looking for something that is versatile and will last you a long time I highly recommend splurging on this item. I first am applying the gold shadow, “Half Baked” all over my lid with a flat shader brush from ELF.

After this I am taking a blending/ crease brush from ELF and mixing “Buck” and “Naked” which are two matte brown shades and placing these into my crease and blending them from my outter corners towards the inner third of my eyes to act as a transition shade before applying sparkly and deeper colored shadows.

Taking the brush that comes with the Naked palette I am applying the color “Smog” into  the outer third of my crease and straying away from dragging this towards my inner corner.

The last thing I’m doing is applying “Darkhorse”  with a tapered crease brush into my outer V to define my eyes and deepen up the look. Along with this, I’m dragging just a lit bit of this onto my lower lash line.

Step Nine: Eyebrows and brow bone highlight The next thing I do is apply the colors “Virgin’ and “Foxy” from the Urban Decay Naked  Basics Palette to my brow bone. I feel that this really makes your shadows pop and it defines your eyebrows and leaves them with a clean finish. This palette has five matte shadows and one shimmer and is perfcet for a natural, beginners look. However, it is a little dryer compared to the other Urban Decay palettes. To do my brows I take my trusty old Vaseline and apply just a little bit with my fingers to sculpt out and shape my brows. This keeps my brows in place all day and is so inexpensive. Lately to fill in the sparse areas of my brows and shape them I’ve been using the center three browns from my Urban Decay Naked Basics 2 palette and an angled brush. I also take a little bit of “Virgin” from the Naked Basics palette and apply it with my fingers into my inner corners to brighten up the look.

Step Ten: Mascara If I’m being honest my eye makeup doesn’t look like anything special until I apply mascara. I like to layer the Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara which provides lots of volume and an intense finish, and the Maybelline Great Lash to really lengthen and separate my lashes. An added bonus is that it’s super easy to remove and is very gentle on the eyes. I use the Maybelline The Falsies Big Eyes “lower lashes” on my lower lashes and on the pesky little lashes in my inner corners.

Step Eleven: Lipstick and Lipgloss Last but not least I am applying my favorite lip combo which is what I reach for on an everyday basis. I use the Maybelline Color Whisper in the color “Some Like It Taupe”. This is a gel formula that provides a very sheer finish. I add the NYX Megashine Lipgloss in the color “Sugar Pie.” I’m a five year old at heart and never leave the house without lip gloss on, I love this NYX one because it packs in moisture leaving my lips hydrated while still providing shine.


 

… and that’s a wrap for my everyday makeup routine. If you’re interested in a video edition please let me know, and if you have any questions please leave them below, I am happy to answer them! If you guys liked this I will definitely consider doing another look in the future. Thank you so much for all the love and support, if you have any requests and suggestions I would love to hear them. Don’t forget to follow me here on the blog and on Instagram @styledbymckenz. Wishing you the best. With love, McKenz.

 

4 thoughts on “Beauty Basics: Everyday Makeup Tutorial

  1. Yay! Thank you for sharing your makeup routine! I just love your writing style, you make it sound so easy. I’ll give this a try but it sure would be neat to see you in action as you do each step. That way we could see how much and exactly where each layer goes. I have to tell you the thought of applying Vaseline on my brow area freightens me…I see an oily mess with darker color so seeing this step in action would be most helpful. Thank you for sharing your experience and insight!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment