Uncategorized

Back To School Essentials + Freshman Advice

Back to school season is upon us and I am ready to share with you all my essentials for a successful school year. I am going to be a sophomore in high school, am a Varsity cheerleader, makeup artist for the theater department, and obviously a blogger. Balancing a social life, academics, and extracurricular activities can be quite the hassle; here are my tips and essentials that help keep me sane throughout the school year.

I would highly recommend keeping an agenda or planner with you during the school year. It’s the simplest way to keep all your events, school work, and uploads in check. I wouldn’t have survived freshman year without mine. I have a Large Lily Agenda and would be happy to do an in-depth post on it if you would like to see one. Along with this, go back to school with supplies you actually like. You spend the majority of your time at school in a classroom, try to enjoy it as much as possible. I love white and gold because it makes me happy so that’s what my school supplies look like!

IMG_7271.JPG

For the first few months of school I wear open toed shoes like it’s my job. My favorite pairs are Jack Rogers, Birkenstocks, and a pair of lace up sandals from Target. These shoes will never fail you; between these three options you’ll be set for almost any occasion.

I would definitely recommend having a good pair of jeans that you feel confident in for those days when Fall starts to creep around the corner. My favorite pair are theses light wash distressed Girlfriend jeans from Gap. I would also recommend having a little black dress as it is perfect for school days, going out, dinners, and even dances. My favorite one is from Old Navy and I wear it at least twice every month during the school year. It can be transitioned to all four seasons which is why I end up getting so much use out of it.

Have an accessory that makes you feel good and that you enjoy pairing with your outfits. I like layered necklaces, bandannas, and pearls. Along with jewelry I would HIGHLY recommend wearing a watch. Whether it’s a $20 Target watch or a $200 Kate Spade, having a watch is one of the most useful things to have in high school if you ask me.

I wear a full face of makeup almost all year round. However, the one product I would recommend finding a favorite of is lipstick or lip-gloss. I have a few favorites that I throw into my backpack for days when I forget to apply anything or am in need of a little pick me up. I love Maybelline, Nyx, and Bare Minerals lip products. I also love to wear bralettes during the school year. They are the easiest way to dress up a plain outfit and are so comfortable. Urban Outfitters has the best ones and they’re only $20.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

My last essential is having a lanyard and Vera Bradley wallet. Everyone and their mother carries these around in my high school. It’s the easiest way to have your keys, money, and school ID all in one place. We typically wear these to sports events or throw them in our backpacks. My lanyard is from Vineyard Vines and my wallet is from Vera Bradley but the pattern has been retired for about three years. Also, the crown key chain is from Michael’s Craft Store.

To all the incoming freshman here is my advice to you: make friends and make A LOT of them. You don’t have to become best friends with them or hang out every weekend but introduce yourself to everyone. Be friendly towards others and always be open to new ideas. Your friend group will change someday and that is okay. Along with that, you don’t have to stick to your grade. Some of the greatest friends I have are upperclassmen, they don’t bite; however, you do have to watch out for some of them, you don’t want to fall in with the wrong crowd. Stay on top of your schoolwork. Freshman year is the easiest it’s going to get. If you’re going to be at school seven hours a day you might as well put in the effort to do well. Go to every school event. Go to dances, go to Football games, go to pep rallies. High School is what you make it. It’s your choice whether they are the best four years or the worst four years. And lastly, be confident. Enjoy it while it lasts and be excited for this new chapter in your life!

That is it for today’s blog post, I hope you all enjoyed. if you have any requests for future blog posts or YouTube videos please leave them below I am willing o take any suggestions. Thank you so much for reading. I hope you all have a wonderful weekend and are getting excited for school! With love, McKenz.

Instagram//YouTube//Pinterest

Recent Posts- Back to School Outfit IdeasLife Update, Weekly Wrap Up #33

14 thoughts on “Back To School Essentials + Freshman Advice

  1. Hi! I’ve just seen one of your latest photo on instagram. The one you show your new sandals, just want it to tell you that this type of sandals are an inspiration from a typical catalan( barcelona) shoe called “espardenyes” just to let you know

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment