Makeup

Drugstore VS High-end Eye Makeup

If I’ve learned one thing about makeup over the years, it’s that you can get the high-end look for a drugstore price. It all just depends on what products you’re reaching for. I know I use a lot of high-end eyeshadow in my tutorials but I wanted to show you all that you can just as easily get the same look without breaking your bank. Today I did one eye using all high-end products and the other all drugstore. They turned out fairly similar as you will soon be able to tell.

Here is me with no makeup on, and then me with only eye makeup on.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
from left to right- drugstore, high-end

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

After doing my makeup I asked four people which eye they thought was done with drugstore products and which with high-end. 4/4 said they thought the right eye (my left) was drugstore. They were all wrong; the left eye (my right) was using all drugstore products and my right eye (my left) was using high-end products. That goes to show that cheaper products can easily get the job done just as well as some of my most expensive products.

Drugstore products used on the left eye (my right): Maybelline Color Tattoo, Ulta Complete Eye Palette, Wet N Wild Comfort Zones Palette, Nyx Eyebrow Cake Powder, NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil, Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

Total Price: $38.00

High-end products used on the right eye (my left): Urban Decay Primer Potion, Too Faced Chocolate Bar, Urban Decay Naked Basics, Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

Total Price: $138.00

Well that’s it for today’s blog post. I hope you all enjoyed. I really wanted my readers to understand that just because the price tag is lower, does not mean that the quality is lower as well. Please leave any questions, comments, or requests below, I am always happy to chat. I hope you all have a wonderful day. With love, McKenz.

6 thoughts on “Drugstore VS High-end Eye Makeup

  1. Over the years, I’ve learned that it is now more important for me to spend the $$$ on skincare products rather than makeup. I do have a tendancy to go for higher-end shadows, but inexpensive eyeliners and mascaras do a wonderful job. Drug store cosmetics need to get more love. Thanks for reminding us about that!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment