Makeup

Makeup Do’s and Don’ts

A few weeks ago I was requested to do a Makeup Do’s and Don’ts, as it has come to my attention that a lot of my younger readers are interested in posts like this one when starting off with makeup. It took me quite some time to learn all the ways of my face and the art itself. Hopefully, this will make your journey a bit easier!

Do- Match your foundation to your neck. Always be sure to match your foundation to your neck, your face is almost always naturally paler than the rest of your body and your neck is the closest color you will find. Be sure to blend your foundation onto your jaw line and a bit down your neck so you have no distinct lines.

Do- Prevent your under eye concealer from increasing. Nobody likes creased concealer. be sure to set any place you put concealer with a powder. This will ensure that you have no creasing and keep you from looking cakey.

Do- Use a primer. Always use a primer. Whether it’s for your face or your eyes. Makeup tends to slide, and look almost stale if you forget primer. this will leave you looking fresh and keep your makeup in tact all day.

Do- Wash your brushes regularly. Don’t forget to wash your brushes regularly. They do get dirty and contain bacteria so stay consistent with washing them. Better safe than sorry.

Do- Blend. Always blend, your contour, face makeup, and eye shadow. A little extra blending never hurt! Use a fluffy crease brush for your eyes, they work wonders!

Don’t- Forget to set your face makes with powder. Be sure to set your face with powder so you don’t appear oily and damp throughout the day,

Don’t- Apply too much blush. A little goes a long way when it comes to blush. Be sure to apply it to the apples of your cheeks and use a light hand when applying. You wouldn’t want to look like a clown!

Don’t- Contour in the wrong spots. Make sure to watch a video or read a post before contouring. Cheek bones, temples, and the sides of your nose should be contoured. Contouring in the wrong place can make your face appear bigger rather than thinner.

Don’t- Use makeup that is expired. If a makeup product is bothering your face or appears old/expired; throw it away! Especially mascara.

Don’t- Forget to curl your lashes. Curling our lashes makes all the difference. It makes them appear longer, more lush, and really completes the makeup look! Don’t forget this simple step.

Well that’s it for today’s blog post! If you want to learn more about makeup and get dome beginners tis, definitely check out my Beauty Basics series for some in-depth talks about makeup! I hope you all enjoyed this post and were able to learn something from it. Thank you all so much for reading. Have a fabulous day. With love, McKenz.

14 thoughts on “Makeup Do’s and Don’ts

  1. I match my foundation to my body because my face and neck are super pale. So I just drag the foundation down my neck so it all matches.

    And I don’t curl my lashes. Eyelash curlers and I do NOT get along. I end up punching my lid, flinch and rip a bunch of lashes out or the curler does absolutely NOTHING. So I’ve given up on that. I’m too old to deal with it. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahaha I had the eyelash curler problem for the longest problem too! After two weeks at the summer I don’t even have to match shades, I was dark all over LOL! Thank ya for reading 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment