Finding Yourself

Faith Update//What I’ve Been Reading

Happy Wednesday everyone. It’s been quite some time since I last sat down and wrote a Faith Update. It’s actually kind of strange since my relationship with God right now feels stronger than it ever has before. My heart has felt so full and the more I have turned to God and put my trust in Him, the happier I have been. I’ve surrounded myself with people that have close relationships with God and been devoting so much time to just siting down and reading my Bible; to write down my thoughts on what I’ve read and just really feel like I’m letting God know what’s going on in my life. If you ever have the chance, please listen to “I Surrender” and “Oceans” by Hillsong. I absolutely love listening to them while I have Bible time at night and I promise you won’t regret it. Here are some verses that I’ve recently read and have really stood out to me, I know there’s a lot but I’ve been trying to keep an open mind when reading!


Psalms-

“The Lord answered me when I called and my distressed, Lord deliver me from line lips, from treacherous tongues.”
“Too long and I love among those who hated peace when I spoke of peace they were of war.”
“You stretch out your hand, you’re right you can save me. The Lord is with me to the end. Lord, your love endures forever.”
“Lord, I call to you, come quickly to help me, listen to my plea when I called.”

Proverbs-

“One man pretends to be rich, yet has nothing, another pretends to be poor, yet has great wealth.”
“Walk with wise men and you will become wise, but the companion of fools will be bear badly.”
“Listen for God’s voice in everything you do and wherever you go, he is the one that will keep you on track.”

John-

“This is my commandment: love one another as I love you. No one has greater love than this, to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. You are my friends if you do what I command you I no longer call you slaves, because a slave does not know what his masters doing. I have called you friends, because I have told you everything I have heard from my father.”

1 Corinthians-

“If I have all faith so as to move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give away everything I own, and I had my body over so that I may boast but do not have love, I gain nothing. Love is patient, love is kind. It is not jealous, it is not pompous, it is not insulated, it is not rude, it does not seek its own interests, it is not quick-tempered, it does not brood over injury, it does not rejoice over wrongdoing but rejoices with the truth. It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails.”

Joshua-

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid, do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”


I started Psalms at the beginning of the year and I never fail to find something good from it. I feel like I gain so much knowledge while reading even from the smallest verses. It has completely opened up my eyes to the world around me and allowed me to feel confident when putting my trust in God. Proverbs is so full of short, meaningful verses that always hit home. The amount of wisdom that Proverbs emits astonishes me. I’m so happy that I started reading it in March. Along with those, I’ve been reading some small verses here and there. I absolutely love these few from Corinthians, John, and Joshua.
It seems as if the words I am choosing to read lately all categorize under wisdom, love, trust, and courage. And if I’m being honest I feel like I am thriving not only in life right now but in all four of those aspects more than ever. I have put my trust in the Lord and I have watched with my own eyes as He has completely flipped my world upside down and allowed me to understand things I would have never dreamed of before. Not only have I felt better with my relationship with God, but with myself as well. I have thrown myself in action, strove to better myself in every way I can and it feels like I’m succeeding.
I can only hope one day you surround yourself with people that radiate as much love and happiness as the people in my life do. I can only hope that you see the world in people like I do. I can only hope you strengthen your relationship with the Lord. And most of all I can only hope you realize that the second you choose to love life, it’ll love you right back.
Wishing you the best this week. With love, McKenz.

One thought on “Faith Update//What I’ve Been Reading

Leave a comment